What is HTML5?

Yashu Mittal

In this article, you will learn an overview of HTML5, including a look at some of the new tags now available to designers and developers. If you want to learn how to take advantage of all the new features of HTML5, continue reading this article!

Let get started!

HTML5 is the latest edition of HTML or hypertext markup language.

Some pieces of it are not fully supported in every browser, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t start taking advantage of all that it has to offer.

It is comprised of several parts there are new browser API’s and features like Drag and Drop, Geolocation, the canvas element, web storage, and more.

If you are new to HTML5, you’re probably more interested in the new elements or tags that are available.

Screenshot of the basic html5 code

1. HTML5 doctype.

<!DOCTYPE html>

This is much shorter than previous versions of HTML, it’s also case insensitive. However, it’s still a good idea to type the word DOCTYPE in all caps to help with backward compatibility with the older browser.

<header>This is a header</header>
  <p>This is a paragraph</p>
<footer>This is a footer</footer>

Header and footer elements help in labeling the top and bottom of either the entire document, specific sections or both.

3. Nav Element


Nav element helps us to structure the navigation of our web pages in this case we’re using an unordered list to structure our navigation.

4. Section Element

Section element just helps us in breaking the specific sections of our website.

5. Address Element

  <a href="#">Click here</a>

Address element is used to wrap various types of addresses.

Do you also want a website for yourself? Get a successful project with Codecarrot.

Response to “What is HTML5?”

Stay current

Sign up for our newsletter, and we'll send you news and tutorials on business, growth, web design, coding and more!